Faculty & Staff
The School
The Dean
Highlights of Developments
Faculty & Staff
Link with Industry
Link to the World

The School has more than 30 full-time equivalent teaching faculty. They are specialized in communication or media theories and have extensive experience in either Hong Kong or overseas industries.

To update students' knowledge and skills of the fast developing communication and media industries, practitioners are either appointed to teach on a part-time basis or invited to speak to students sharing their experience with them.

From time to time, distinguished scholars from overseas universities join
the School as
visiting professors for a semester or a year for exchange
purpose. Dr. David Desser, Professor of Cinema Studies at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign joined the Department of Cinema and Television as Visiting Scholar from 1 January 2002 to 30 June 2003; Dr. Philip Backlund, Professor of Communication at Central Washington University in Ellensburg served as Visiting Scholar from 1 September 2001 to 30 June 2002;Dr. CHAO Yaly, Associate Professor of Tam Kang University attached to Department of Communication Studies from 3 December 2002 to 30 June 2003; Dr. Xiong Cheng-Yu, Professor of Communication at Tsinghua University Beijing, joined the Department of Communication Studies as Sir Run Run Shaw Fellow for this semester. Dr. Ramona Curry, Associate Professor of Department of English of University of Illinois at Urban-Champaign served as Visiting Fulbright Scholar from 6 January 2004 to 30 June 2004.

Faculty spend their sabbatical leave in teaching and research outside Hong Kong to broaden their perspective and establish closer relationship with overseas institutions. Dr. Steve Guo of Journalism attached to University of Queensland in Spring 2003.

In addition to teaching,
all faculty engage in research and services. Some have been awarded research or teaching development grants.

The faculty are supported by 1 administrative officer, 3 demonstrators, 10 technicians, and 8 administrative support staff.